2019 SCAN Awards Criteria



a dietetic practice group of the Academy of Nutrition right. and Dietetics

Each year SCAN recognizes the outstanding practice and significant contributions its members make toward promotion of SCANs work as an organization and in the practice areas represented by SCAN.

The awards and their nomination and disqualifying criteria are:

1. **SCAN Achievement Award:** This award recognizes a practitioner who has left a legacy to SCAN and the profession through both a history of leadership within SCAN and through outstanding service to the profession.

Criteria for Nomination and Review

- a. Member of SCAN for 10 or more years
- b. Significant history of outstanding service to SCAN in various leadership roles, such as SCAN's Executive Committee, Symposium Director/Assistant Director, Subunit leadership and involvement, major publications (Pulse, Well/CV newsletter, SCORE, The Beat), etc
- c. Professional accomplishments in the field of sports or cardiovascular nutrition, wellness and/or disordered eating/eating disorders as exemplified through teaching or professional training, clinical experience, public speaking, research, publications, nutrition education for the public, etc

Other forms of service and professional accomplishment that may be considered

- a. Participation in Academy and/or other professional organizations at the national, state, and/or local levels
- b. Community Service/Volunteerism at the national, state, and local levels
- c. Formal and/or informal mentoring of peers and young leaders
- d. Collegiality
- 2. **SCAN Excellence in Practice Award:** This award recognizes the outstanding practice of a SCAN member in one of the four dietetic practice areas (cardiovascular, wellness/health promotion, disordered eating, or sports). A member may receive the award for efforts as an individual, part of a group, or part of an organization. Practice may include clinical, public health, consulting/corporate, program development, research, publication, education, or volunteer.

Criteria for Nomination and Review

- a. Member of SCAN for 3 plus years
- b. Visibility of practice in at least one of SCAN's practice areas
- c. Professional accomplishments demonstrated to advance and impact the profession
- d. Outstanding leadership/service to the profession
- 3. **SCAN Student Award:** This award recognizes a student member who has unmistakable commitment to at least one of SCAN's practice areas (nutrition for cardiovascular disease, wellness and weight management, disordered eating and eating disorders, or sports and physical performance), as

evidenced by outstanding contribution to SCAN, extraordinary community service, and academic excellence. The award will be presented annually at the SCAN Symposium, unless no candidate is nominated or meets the award criteria in a given year.

Sports, Cardiovascular, and Wellness Nutrition

a dietetic practice group of the

right. and Dietetics

Academy of Nutrition

Criteria for Nomination and Review

- a. A current member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics for at least 1 year
- b. A student member of SCAN for at least 1 year (must be a current student member of SCAN at the time of nomination)
- c. A current student (Bachelor, Master, or Doctoral candidate, or Dietetic Intern) at the time of nomination
- 4. **SCAN Distinguished Scholar Award**: This award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to research or the practice of dietetics as a result of continued commitment to scholarship.

Criteria for Nomination and Review

- a. Holds a leadership position in sports, cardiovascular, wellness or disordered eating in a professional, academic, industry, or government organization
- b. Has authored peer-reviewed publications that advance the body of knowledge in sports, cardiovascular, wellness or disordered eating
- c. Has advanced the field of dietetics practice through or by research publications; development of programs, competencies, or standards of practice; authorship of manuals, texts, or position papers; or other professional accomplishments.
- d. Candidates must be distinguished by leadership and scholarly endeavors. Candidates may be RDs or non-RDs, SCAN members or non-SCAN members.

Disqualifying Criteria for SCAN Awards

- a. Currently serving on the SCAN Executive Committee
- b. Having already received the award
- c. Incomplete award application

Previous Award Recipients:

Sports, Cardiovascular, and Wellness Nutrition

a dietetic practice group of the Academy of Nutrition right. and Dietetics

	and Dietetics		
SCAN Excellence in	SCAN Achievement Award		SCAN Student Award
Practice Award		1	
1997 -Mary Dodds-Spoon 1998 – Denise Ferko-Adams 1999 – Karin Kratina 2000 – Not awarded 2001 – Melinda Manore 2002 – Sondra Kronberg 2003 – Susan Kundrat 2004 – Brenda Davy 2005 – Marilyn Holms 2006 – Nancy King 2007 – Karen Balnicki Wetherall 2008 – Nancy Clark 2009 – Lisa Carlson; 2010 – Reba Sloan 2011 – Karen Daigle 2012 – Karen Collins, Alisa Krizan, Nanna Meyer, Ellen Stellefson Myers 2013 - Satya Jonnalagadda 2014 – Tara Coghlin Dickson 2015 – Jessica Setmick 2016 – Sharon Smalling 2017 – Kathleen Woolf 2018 – Meridan Zerner	1985 – Merle Best 1986 – Jean Storlie 1987 – Marilyn Schorin 1988 – Jackie Berning 1989 – Penny Kris- Etherton 1990 – Georgia Kostas 1991 – Nema Frye 1992 – Nancy Clark 1993 – Dan Benardot 1994 – Ellen Coleman 1995 – Kristine Clark 1996 – Lori Valencic 1997 – Linda Zorn 1998 – Nicki Zeidner 1999 – Lynn Umbreit	2000 – Karen Ross 2001 – Ruth Carey 2002 – Julie Burns 2003 – Rita Johnson 2004 – Marty Yadrick 2005 – Karen Dolins 2006 – Marie Dunford 2007 – Michele Macedonio 2008 – Chris Rosenbloom 2009 – Patti Steinmuller & Nancy DiMarco 2010 – Ingrid Skoog 2011 – Roberta Anding 2012 – N/A 2013 – Christina Scribner 2014 – D. Enette Larson- Meyer 2015 – Leslie J. Bonci 2016 – Hope Barkoukis 2017 – Brenda Davy 2018 – Christine Karpinski	2013 – Sara Shipley 2014 – Lauren Kort 2015 – Jennifer Burris 2016 – Tanya Halliday 2018 – Cortney Steele SCAN Distinguished Scholar Award 2007 – Louise Burke 2008 – Robert Murray 2011 – Melinda Manore 2016 – Linda Van Horne 2017 – Stella Volpe